Food Systems, Grocery, International Food, Recipes, Vegan
Leave a Comment

Cauliflower and Lentil Curry

IMG_1538

I decided to try out this cauliflower curry that I found a couple of weeks ago. I love all things curry so I figured it would be delicious, and it was! We had just a bit of rice left in our pantry so I decided to add it, and I adjusted the spices a tad. I also adjusted the lentils, but I don’t think it was necessary. I made a lentil shepherds pie earlier in the week and had some left over (roughly 1.5 cups), so that’s what I used. If you’re cooking them for this recipe, I would use the original amount of 2.5 cups. I’m one who loved a crunchy texture, so I served this with two pieces of toasted sourdough (naan would have been ideal). I forgot to take a picture of it once it was finished. So here’s my leftovers and empty bowl. Whoops!Ingredients

  • 12 ounce can crushed tomato
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 tsp. curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 shallots, diced
  • 1 head cauliflower, chopped
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked lentils (1 cup dry)
  • 1 cup rice (if adding)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 1/5 tsp curry
  • 2 cups vegetable broth + water as needed

Instructions

  1. Add the rice and spices to the vegetable broth and bring to a boil (or if you have a rice cooker use that). Add additional water as necessary.
  2. In a large skillet, combine tomato sauce, broth, curry powder, cumin, salt and shallots. Stir together and cook over medium heat until it begins to bubble.
  3. Lower the heat to medium-low and add the chopped cauliflower. Cover the skilled and cook for 5 minutes.
  4. Add the red pepper. Continue to cook, covered, until the vegetables are almost tender (another 5 to 10 minuets).
  5. Add the cooked lentils and cook for another couple of minutes, until everything is tender.

 

Leave a comment