Recipes
Leave a Comment

No-bake macaroons

IMG_5801

If you like super dark chocolatey treats this is the one for you. It’s super simple to make and doesn’t require any bake time! I’ve recently discovered that I like coconut in my baked goods, but I’m never quite sure what to make with it. After some googling, I found a recipe for no-bake macaroons. I added more coconut to the recipe below as I thought the original was a little too sticky. To make these vegan, you can replace the honey with maple syrup. I happened to have just enough honey from this fun rooftop place in Sydney so I used that. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana, finely mashed
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 6 tbsp cocoa powder, sifted
  • 2 1/2 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
  • small pinch of fine grain sea salt, to taste

 Instructions

  1. In a mixing bowl, mash the banana until most of the clumps are gone. Stir in the melted coconut oil, honey, and vanilla.
  2. Add the cocoa powder and stir until combined. Now stir in the coconut.
  3. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a non-stick mat. Using a spoon or retractable ice cream scooper, scoop rounds onto the sheet. Sprinkle salt on the macaroons. Place sheet in the freezer for around 20 minutes, or until macaroons are firm.

Leave a comment